About WANP

What is the WANP?

The WANP is the non-profit professional association for Naturopathic Physicians (NDs) in the State of Washington, incorporated in 1934. We are supported and funded through annual dues paid by our members, contributions from our corporate partners, and revenue from our educational events.

Mission Statement: The mission of the WANP is to support our members and advocate for naturopathic medicine in Washington State. We work to increase public awareness of and access to naturopathic medical services, and we contribute to quality of care through continuing professional education programs.

What is the purpose of the WANP?

The Washington Association of Naturopathic Physicians (WANP) represents the interests of its member naturopathic physicians in the state of Washington. Its function is to serve the profession and the community through effective leadership and commitment to excellence in health education and health care services.

We work to achieve this through the following program offerings:

Legislative Representation: The WANP represents the interests of its members to the Washington State legislature and to other local, state, and federal government entities.

Continuing Education: The WANP offers continuing education seminars and conferences for naturopathic physicians and other health care professionals.

Member Benefits: The WANP works diligently to develop and provide useful benefits for our membership, emphasizing cost savings, clinical tools, and business and financial resources.

Naturopathic Physician Referrals: The WANP serves Washington residents by providing referrals to qualified member physicians.

Public Outreach: The WANP is dedicated to educating Washington residents on the benefits of naturopathic medicine and facilitating access to NDs throughout the state.

Collaboration: The WANP works with businesses, healthcare and educational institutions, and other organizations to further the health and well-being of Washington residents.

WANP Committees

Continuing Education Committee

Committee Purpose:
To generate high quality continuing education options for our members and increase revenue for WANP.

Committee Members:

  • Lorinda Sorensen, ND, LAc - Chair
  • Allison Apfelbaum, ND
  • Mandy Gulla, ND, LMT
  • Lesley Morical, ND
  • Teresa Richter, ND
  • Stacie Wells, ND
Finance Committee

Committee Purpose:
To provide financial oversight through participation in budgeting, financial planning, analysis, and reporting; to promote fiscal responsibility at all times; and to employ sound investment strategies to grow WANP reserves.

Committee Members:

  • Mandy Gulla, ND, LMT - Chair
  • Sarah Acosta Smith, ND
  • Kelsey Klausmeyer, ND
  • Teresa Richter, ND
Governance Committee

Committee Purpose:
To ensure the health of the Board and therefore the Association through sound governance policy, regular Board training, clear delineation of roles and responsibilities, attention to Board composition and effectiveness, and consistent evaluations of Board and Director performance.

Committee Members:

  • Jana Nalbandian, ND - Chair
  • Kelsey Klausmeyer, ND
  • Kara Menzer, ND
  • Teresa Richter, ND
Legislative Affairs Committee

Committee Purpose:
To protect and advance naturopathic scope of practice in Washington State.

Committee Members:

  • Justin Taylor, ND - Chair
  • Sarah Acosta Smith, ND
  • Allison Apfelbaum, ND
  • Leslie Fiedler
  • Laura Galati, ND, LM
  • Veronica Gayoso
  • Wahji Kasten, ND, LAc
  • Kelsey Klausmeyer, ND
  • Lesley Morical, ND
  • Jana Nalbandian, ND
  • Teresa Richter, ND
  • Suzanne Way, ND
  • Stacie Wells, ND
Membership Committee

Committee Purpose:
To foster community among WANP members, to increase membership for the WANP, and to create innovative member benefits that promote member engagement and retention.

Committee Members:

  • Allison Apfelbaum, ND - Chair
  • Tiffany Bloomingdale, ND
  • Elizabeth Gustas
  • Melissa Lange
  • Teresa Richter, ND

WANP Board of Directors

Teresa Richter, ND

Sarah Acosta Smith, ND
Vice President

Justin Taylor, ND
Secretary; Chair, Legislative Affairs Committee

Mandy Gulla, ND, LMT
Treasurer; Chair, Finance Committee

Allison Apfelbaum, ND
Chair, Membership Committee

Tiffany Bloomingdale, ND

Lesley Morical, ND

Jana Nalbandian, ND
Chair, Governance Committee

Lorinda Sorensen, ND, LAc
Chair, Continuing Education Committee

Suzanne Way, ND, LAc

Melissa Lange
Student Representative

WANP Staff

Angela Ross, ND
Executive Director

Alex Crenshaw
Operations Coordinator

Providing the resources, community, and advocacy that Washington’s Naturopathic Physicians need to thrive and grow.